top of page

Best of Horror Library: Volumes 1-5


Meh. 2.5ish/5 If you glance through the reviews at Goodreads, a lot of people seemed to love this collection, but I found it to be middling at best. I find the Best Horror of the Year or The Year's Best Horror and Dark Fantasy anthologies to have better bests. Even there I usually find the selection of stories rather hit or miss, but that is probably par for the course with most anthologies. Yet The Best of Horror Library: Volumes 1 - 5 is mostly miss. Few of the stories were truly memorable and even with most of those, they were still so-so -- nothing you haven't heard before. Most of the time you saw the ending coming from the first page or left you shaking your head while muttering "[insert author's name here] did it better". Nothing was horribly written, though some stories were just ridiculous. I know, I should be more woman-power about the magical dildo, but really, it isn't horror and it wasn't magical. However, one or two stories did stick out. My personal favorite was The Apocalypse Ain't So Bad by Jeff Strand -- a dude who keeps coming up and who I may have to check out.

You know, adding the image I have to remark that the cover is pretty bad-ass though, but since I read it on a Kindle Paperwhite, it really couldn't sway my ranking. Meh.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page